4 Best Free Cloud Web Hosting

4 Best Free Cloud Web Hosting

I pick 4 of the best cloud web hosting that I commonly use when deploying my project

There are many articles covered about free cloud web hosting, but in this article, I will share my choice and opinion to pick cloud web hosting for free. In this article, I will share with you what I like about the platforms.


Covered Cloud Web Hosting

  • Vercel

  • Netlify

  • Railway

  • Fly.io


Vercel

Vercel is one of my favorites, when building web applications and is ready to deploy. The first place I consider is Vercel, including building starter projects. Vercel is suited to all web projects including react, vue, gatsby, and many another. With free, you can deploy unlimited projects. Offers complete features including a custom domain with HTTPS, monitoring, analytics, and many more.

Vercel allows you to integrate with your Git repository including Github, Gitlab, and BitBucket. In my experience using this feature will help me a lot when building and starting to deploy a website with just a single click, also will automatically update when you push your code into the repo. Vercel provides you with CLI that helps when using the CI/CD tools including GitLab CICD, and GitHub Actions.

vercel.com


Netlify

Overall Netlify offers the same features as Vercel. This is also my favorite when deploying my project. With the free plan, you are able to create up to 500 sites, Also you will get the awesome feature for monitoring, a custom domain with HTTPS, and many others.

Netlify also provides git integration like GitHub and GitLab. If you need more functionality use the CLI feature. This will help if you're using the CI CD tools.

netlify.com


Railway

Railway in another hand is more like complete hosting for frontend and also your backend. You can host your backend and your frontend application. Railway supports many programming languages so you don't worry about compatibility. With the free plan, you can get 512 RAM, and 1GB of Storage.

Railway offers the infrastructure, and secret feature to help you protect your env variables. Also supporting the CLI will help you deploy your project from your local machine, CI-CD. Supporting Github repo integration that will automatically deploy your project if you push your code.

With Railway you can also create databases such as PostgreSQL, MYSQL, MongoDB, and Redis. Use Railway if you're running a simple project that needs a complete bundle.

railway.app


Fly.io

Overall Fly.io offers the complete build platform that will help you deploy your application including Frontend, Backend, and Database. With free, you can get 3 CPUs, and 3GB storage. Railways also support many languages and platforms including node, rust, docker, Phoenix, and Go. If you need another one, you can extend it using your docker container.

Fly also using CLI that will help deploy your application locally, or use in your CI CD tools. Anyway, Fly doesn't support integration with Gitlab or Github, so you can use the auto-deploy feature like another one. Also, support PostgreSQL Database to store your data.

fly.io


Conclusion

If you're building frontend projects like react, Vue, Gatsby, and another one you can use Vercel or Netlify. If you need more features for the backend server running, and database use Railway or Fly. I only cover 4 platforms here, because this is my favorite. There are some hosting services but this is more than enough for you.

I will share a lot of my experience, and my tips in this blog, so stay tuned and always get updated. Thanks